CBR-V Review #6: Big Boned by Meg Cabot

Why I Read It: Meg Cabot is just generally awesome–The Princess Diaries is on my top ten list of all-time favorite YA books, and I think she’s cool and funny and smart (and also one time she responded to a letter I wrote to her when I was eleven). Her books are some of my favorite “comfort reads” and I always look for them at the library when I want something easy and fun to read.

My Rating: 2 stars

Summary: Heather Wells (also the heroine of Size 12 is Not Fat, which I liked a lot more) works in the residence life office of a dorm at a large university in New York City. Things are going pretty well for her–she’s got an attractive professor boyfriend (although she still has feelings for her roommate, Cooper), she likes her job, and she’s finally getting into the swing of “normal” life, away from her pop-star past. Her stable world is shaken, however, when yet another murder occurs in the residence hall in which she works–and this time, her boss  is the victim. Once again, it’s up to Heather to save the day, while also navigating the complexities of her love life.

My Review: I was really bored by this book. Cabot’s books are always fluffy, for lack of a better word, but that’s what I’m looking for when I pick them: something easy, funny, and mindless. This book definitely fit the bill, but it felt pretty watered-down and a little tedious. This book was just very been-there, done-that, like Cabot wrote this in her sleep. The mystery was boring, Heather’s sassiness felt kind of forced, and it wasn’t nearly as funny as I know Cabot is capable of being. I obviously wasn’t expecting high literature here, but it wasn’t even that much fun to read. Bummer, because like I said, I love Cabot, and her books are some of my all-time favorite chick-lit reads. Oh well–better luck next time!

Should You Read It? Skip it, and go read some of her other books instead (you can’t go wrong with The Princess Diaries).

Leave a Reply

