A New Approach

It’s been a while since my last post–and I can explain why!

After successfully completing my challenge to read 52 books in a year (I ended up at 62, I believe), I set out to do another challenge in 2014. I felt burnt out though, and although I’m certainly still reading the same amount, and would probably be close to the same number this year, the process of keeping track of each book, then reviewing it, began to wear on me. I read because I love reading, and although the 2013 challenge was fun, I didn’t like the pressure I felt to read faster, to forgo my New Yorkers and online longreads because they didn’t count towards my quota. I also disliked writing reviews for every book, because frankly, not every book deserves the time and creative energy it takes to write a good review. I’ll be the first to admit that I mix in some junky mysteries and chick lit with my “real” books, the ones that I actually enjoy reviewing, and those are just too fluffy and simple for me to be able to say anything of substance about them.

So I gave it all up, and decided to get back to where I used to be–reading because I want to, reading what I want to, reading for the pleasure of it. I have no idea how many books I’ve read this year, and I’m okay with that.

I do, however, miss writing reviews. I tend to take an all-or-nothing approach to things like this, because I like to do things right, but it dawned on me that no one ever said that this blog had to be dedicated to reading challenges. I can simply review what I like (or dislike–mainly, what I have things to say about).

So I won’t be posting about all the books I read anymore. Just the ones that stand out.